



For Immediate Release:

February 5, 2024

For media inquiries only, contact:

Keisa Gunby (762) 246-8965

## C.T. Walker and Davidson magnet schools earn national merit awards

(AUGUSTA, GEORGIA) – Two Richmond County School System (RCSS) magnet schools earned 2024 national Merit Awards from the Magnet Schools of America. C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet School was awarded a National Merit School of Excellence Award, the top award category of the Magnet School Merit Awards Program. John S. Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School received a National Merit School of Distinction Award, the second-highest recognition award.

"Only a select number of magnet schools in the country receive these prestigious awards, and our schools were the only ones to receive recognition in the state of Georgia," said Dr. Kenneth Bradshaw, Superintendent of Schools. "We are immensely proud of the students and staff at C.T. Walker and Davidson. Their commitment to academic excellence cannot be understated."

C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet School won five national merit awards since 2018, including this year. C.T. Walker Principal E.J. Sharif, says, "Our leadership team here at CT Walker worked diligently on compiling and analyzing data, composing comprehensive narratives about each educational topic, and carefully applying the feedback from last year's Distinction award. As a result, we obtained a perfect score, thus granting us the Excellence award! I am so proud of the hard work of our faculty, staff, and students here at the Excellent C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet Elementary."

John S. Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School has won 11 total national merit awards. "The award reflects the consistent hard work and dedication of our students, faculty, and staff," said Davidson principal Dr. Renee Kelly. "Our families have been a huge part of our success, and we are so grateful for their support. We are proud of the recognition and acclaim the Merit Award of Distinction brings to the outstanding achievement of our academic and fine arts programs."

To receive a national merit award, Magnet Schools of America members must submit a detailed application that is scored by a panel of educators. Schools are judged and scored on their demonstrated ability to raise academic achievement, promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and instruction, and create strong family and community partnerships that enhance the school's magnet theme. C.T. Walker's magnet theme is communications, and Davidson's is fine arts.





Both schools will receive their awards during a ceremony at the Magnet Schools of America's National Conference in April 2024.

###